Team Time Trial 11/12/00

Team Time Trial Route Profile

Team President Ed Camerena announced the second in a series of time trials was to be held, Sunday, November 12, 2000.

Course Description: 7.5 miles through Santiago Canyon from the Jamboree side, west to east. The start line location is at the top of "Dump Hill" just east of the intersection of the Santiago Canyon Road and overpass to the 241 Toll Road. Course starts with a long down hill followed by rollies and flat terrain. The course is challenging but no difficult climbs. The finish line is just past the Modjeska Road intersection with Santiago Canyon Road.

United States Cycling Federation Rules are observed. The most important ones for time trials are as follows:
     You must wear an ANSI or SNELL approved helmet.
     You may use aero bars and disc wheels.
     There is No Drafting allowed in time trials.
     There will be a starter to start you.
     You must start at your assigned start time by the official clock.
     Your clock will start at your assigned time even if you show up late to the start line.
     Please do not ask for a new start time.

Ed wrote: "Time trials are among the most difficult of road races as they require a sustained high effort over the entirety of the race. No drafting, no backing off. While the course started of with a nice long downhill, it was not an easy course.

Conditions today were tough with a low temperature and cold head wind making for times that were three to four minutes slower than last March when the winning time was 20:05. Today's fastest time was posted by Ken Isaak with a time of 24: 07. His time last March was 20:54.

It was a beautifully clear morning ... at the start, we were amazed to be able to see the skyscrapers all the way in downtown Los Angeles!!

On behalf of myself and all of the riders in the Time Trial, I extend our deepest appreciation to the volunteers who made this a success. Thanks go to Chuck Bramwell and Lucille Rhodes for helping with the sign ups and to Chuck for adding the results to the web site along with results and photos of the March time trial. Thanks also to Doug Patterson, Wendy Reynolds, and John Burgess who worked at the start line and to Lucille Rhodes, Rhonda Myers, Jamie Russel, Carmen Gray, and Debbie Kelly who worked the finish."


Place Name Time
1 Ken Isaak 24:07
2 Tom Volkmann 24:49
3 Jeff Druck 25:02
4 Keith Naide 25:14
5 Clark Dicus 25:17
6 Chuck Bramwell 25:34
7 Greg Barr 25:58
8 Mike Tillman 26:04
9 Alan Kraemer 26:34
10 Frank Keenan 26:44
11 Charlie Renes 30:07
12 Cheri Scherr 31:02
13 David Epstein 38:21


1 Cheri Scherr 31:02

MEN 30-39

1 Ken Isaak 24:07
2 Greg Barr 25:58
3 Charlie Renes 30:27

MEN 40-49

1 Keith Naide 25:14
2 Clark Dicus 25:17
3 Chuck Bramwell 25:34
4 Mike Tillman 26:04
5 Alan Kraemer 26:34

MEN 50-59

1 Tom Volkmann 24:49
2 Jeff Druck 25:02
3 Frank Keenan 26:44
4 David Epstein 38:21

Team Page  |  Home Page